Members of the ACNFP

Last updated: 29 October 2021

The Advisory Committee of Novel Foods & Processes comprises an independent Chair, and sixteen independent members.

The members of the ACNFP are:

Dr Camilla Alexander-White (Chair)

Dr Alexander-White is a chemical safety assessor of 25 years’ plus experience and strategic advisor to the cosmetics and foods sectors on assuring the safety of product-critical ingredients or contaminants coming under regulatory scrutiny in Europe.

Dr Anton Alldrick

Dr Alldrick is Special Projects Manager within the Science Division at Campden BRI with over 30 years’ experience in food safety.

Alison Austin 

Alison is an independent consultant working to support businesses on sustainability issues. Following a 25-year career at Sainsbury’s she has focused on championing sustainability and consumer issues in both the private and public sector.

Dr Mark Berry

Dr Berry is the Founder and Director of Food and Life Sciences Consulting Ltd. He had over 30 years of industrial experience leading a variety of projects in plant science, food biochemistry, clinical nutrition and biotechnology.

Professor Susan Duthie

Professor Duthie is the Associate Head of School for Pharmacy & Life Sciences (PaLS), at the Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen. Professor Duthie’s particular area of expertise is how diet affects human health, particularly how nutrition influences cell function and genomic stability.

Professor Susan Fairweather-Tait

Professor Fairweather-Tait is currently Professor of Human Nutrition at Norwich Medical School, University of East Anglia and has substantial experience as a research scientist gained from industry and the Institute of Food Research.

Professor Paul Fraser

Professor Fraser is Head of Plant Molecular Sciences, at Royal Holloway University of London. His works cover the disciplines of biochemistry, molecular biology and genetics, and integrative biology.

Dr Hamid Ghoddusi

Dr Ghoddusi is a senior food scientist/microbiologist for over 20 years. He is currently the Head of Microbiology Research Unit (MRU) and the leader of food safety and gastrointestinal microbiology and probiotic/prebiotic research group at London Metropolitan University.

Professor Wendy Harwood

Professor Harwood is Head of the Crop Transformation Group at the John Innes Centre, Norwich where she also manages the BRACT Crop Transformation / Genome Editing Platform.

Professor Huw Jones

Professor Jones is Professor of Translational Genomics for Plant Breeding at IBERS Aberystwyth University. His research applies biotechnology approaches to study functional genomics in cereals with a current focus on gene editing.

Dr Elizabeth Lund

Dr Elizabeth Lund is a freelance consultant in the area of research ethics and nutritional study design. She is currently alternate vice-chair of West London Gene Therapy Advisory Committee and Research Ethics Committee as well as having over 20 years of research experience.

Nichola Lund

Ms Lund is a freelance Qualified Trading Standards and Food Standards Officer, and has been qualified and working in that area for 20 years. She a member of the Chartered Institute of Trading Standards.

Dr Rohini Manuel

Dr Manuel is a Consultant Clinical Microbiologist at the Public Health Laboratory London, National Infection Service, Public Health England.

Emeritus Professor Harry McArdle

Professor McArdle is an Emeritus Professor at the Rowett institute of Nutrition and Health, University of Aberdeen and is also Honorary Professor of Biosciences at the University of Nottingham. He is a member of the Nutrition, Dietetics and Allergy Panel and of the Novel Foods working group for the European Food Safety Authority.

Rebecca McKenzie

Ms McKenzie is a Senior Specialist Dietician in Allergy at University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Clare Mills

Professor Mills is the Professor of Molecular Allergology at the University of Manchester. She is based in the Manchester Institute of Biotechnology and is part of the Respiratory and Allergy Research team at the University Hospital of South Manchester.

Dr Lesley Stanley

Dr Stanley is a Eurotox Registered Toxicologist (ERT) and a Fellow of the British Toxicology Society (FBTS). In 2005 Dr Stanley established her own business as an Independent Consultant in Investigative Toxicology.

Professor Hans Verhagen 

Professor Verhagen is a Food Safety and Nutrition consultant following his retirement from EFSA in 2020 where he was the Head of the Risk Assessment and Scientific Assistance Department as well as a Senior Scientific Officer.

Dr Maureen Wakefield

Dr Wakefield is the lead scientist for applied Entomology at Fera Science Ltd with other 35 years’ experience. She is also a senior lecturer at Newcastle University.